Mercury Prize 2018: Here Is The Shortlist Of The Nominees

Arctic Monkeys, Florence & The Machine, Lily Allen, Noel Gallagher and Novelist are among the shortlisted artists on this year’s Hyundai Mercury Prize.

The shortlist was picked by a panel of 12 experts judges from the music industry, including broadcaster and DJ Clara Amfo, jazz musician Jamie Cullum, singers Lianne La Havas, Marcus Mumford and Ella Eyre, and music critics Will Hodgkinson (The Times) and Harriet Gibsone (deputy editor, The Guardian Guide).

The shortlist was selected from over 200 albums entered for the prestigious music award, narrowed down to 12 after months of listening. The prize aims to recognise artistic achievement across a range of genres.

The awards take place on 20 September at the Eventim Apollo in Hammersmith, London.

Full shortlist for 2018 Mercury Prize:

Arctic Monkeys – ‘Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino’

Everything Everything – ‘A Fever Dream’

Everything is Recorded – ‘Everything is Recorded’

Florence + The Machine – ‘High as Hope’

Jorja Smith – ‘Lost & Found’

King Krule – ‘The Ooz’

Lily Allen – ‘No Shame’

Nadine Shah – ‘Holiday Destination’

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – ‘Who Built the Moon?’

Novelist – ‘Novelist Guy’

Sons of Kemet – ‘Your Queen is a Reptile’

Wolf Alice – ‘Visions of a Life’